Washcloths, Shower Curtains, and Irons

What do those three things have in common?  Three things you probably won’t find in your hotel room outside of the United States.

I have the good fortune to travel outside of the US on a relatively frequent basis for work.  And for some reason I just can’t get over these three things not being in my room. I am currently in Tel Aviv and staying in a nice boutique hotel. Where is the iron? On the 5th floor.

The good news is I have learned to look for it, so I ironed my shirts at night when no-one else was using it.  But seriously, are Americans the only people who iron their shirts when travelling?  Do people outside the US have a secret formula for not wrinkling their clothes when travelling? (Yes, I already do the plastic thing). Is anybody else bothered by this?

And while I am on a rant, what’s up with the 4 inch piece of glass that acts as a shower curtain?  I am 6 feet 4 inches tall. When I stand in the shower, water is flying everywhere. Would it kill you to put up a curtain, or a bigger piece of glass?

And don’t get me started about the lack of a washcloth for washing my face after shaving!

But you know, I am sure that folks coming to the U.S. are amazed at our decadence, our incessant need to iron our clothes and the ridiculousness of our massive (and dirty!) plastic shower curtains.

In the end, I learn to cope, and chalk it up to one of the “interesting” things I get to experience when travelling around. What do you find different when you travel? I am interested to hear your experiences. Email or comment!

@ajdun

Leave a Reply

