The Theme for 2010: Focus Focus Focus

As you would expect, these first few weeks of the year are incredibly hectic. Everyone is back in the office, budgeting is complete (mostly), plans are drafted, and there is a hyper focus on Q1. Get off to a great start and the year is made, get off to a poor start and it’s going to be a struggle.

Inspired by my good friend over at FirstPersonPR who writes this week about how to apply her budget learnings from 2009 in 2010, I will take a few minutes to outline three themes I expect to incorporate in our marketing strategy this coming year.

  1. Focus on Opportunity Cost: There is an innumerable amount of things we could do. They are all good ideas. But even after adjusting for the available budget, there still are too many to do. And every one we do means there is something else we can’t do. I expect to pick just a few threads and line up all of our resources behind those things to have a meaningful impact.  That will mean we leave some great ideas on the table of course.  But we have already started the “good ideas” list of things that we don’t want to lose sight of.
  2. Focus on Segmentation: Demand generation is a much more complex game in 2010 than ever before. Instead of casting our net wide, we need to segment even deeper, with a tighter and crisper message. And we will align our incentives with those goals to ensure everyone is pulling in the same direction.
  3. Focus on Innovation: The founders of HubSpot were kind enough to give us a copy of their new book “Inbound Marketing” and I just started skimming through it. So far, it’s pretty good, and if you read my post on “the four walls theory” you know I am a proponent. Our challenge for this year will be to innovate and experiment further with Inbound within the context of points #1 and #2 above.

What are you going to be focused on in 2010? If your CEO asked you to distill your strategy into just three words what would you say? For me it’s clear: Focus, Focus, Focus.

Happy New Year!

@ajdun

5 Responses

  1. […] Posted by Aaron Dun under Uncategorized Leave a Comment  My post on my 2010 marketing themes and strategies from early January continues to be one of the more popular articles in the past few weeks, which […]

  2. […] But what does that extended whine have to do with marketing globally? I also use this time to reflect on what worked in 2010 as we think about closing out the year and planning for next year. I started out the year by saying that our operative model was to Focus Focus Focus. You can read my take on the strategy in this post. […]

  3. […] blog post since I started focusing on this blog a few years back.  In 2010 my key message was “Focus, Focus, Focus” in 2011, it was “Align your activity with the current business objectives.” Both of those […]

  4. […] for the coming year as a way to reflect on what has worked and what has not.  You can read my 2010 post about focus,  my 2011 post about what works, or my 2012 post on being different using the embedded links. […]

  5. […] for the coming year as a way to reflect on what has worked and what has not.  You can read my 2010 post about focus,  my 2011 post about what works, or my 2012 post on being different using the embedded […]

Leave a Reply

